ARES Scholarships in Belgium for Developing Countries

Sponsored Links

The ARES scholarship program in Belgium offers exciting opportunities for students and professionals from select developing countries to pursue advanced Bachelor’s or Master’s degree programs, as well as short-term continuing education courses.

Sponsored by the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, this initiative aims to foster educational growth and empower individuals in fields such as aquaculture, health, food technology, economics, and many more.

Who Can Apply: The ARES scholarship is open to nationals of several countries, including Benin, Bolivia, Cambodia, Cuba, Ethiopia, Kenya, Nepal, South Africa, and more. Applicants must reside and work in one of these countries and meet specific educational and professional experience criteria.

Eligible Fields of Study: Students and professionals can apply for a wide range of programs covering diverse fields, including agriculture, environment, human rights, information technology, international development, microfinance, and GIS.

ALSO READ:  Architecture, Design and Planning Dean's Merit Scholarship at The University of Sydney 2023

Number of Awards and Benefits: Every year, ARES offers 130 scholarships for Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programs, along with 70 scholarships for continuing education courses. The scholarship covers international travel expenses, living allowances, registration fees, insurance, and housing allowances, among other benefits.

Application Process: The application process involves creating a GIRAF account online and completing the scholarship application form. It is essential to apply before the deadline, which usually falls on January 27, 2023, at 12 pm (Belgian time, UTC+1). Applicants are encouraged to visit the official ARES website for detailed information and access to the application form.

Important Eligibility Criteria: To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must hold a relevant diploma from a Belgian university or an equivalent institution. For advanced Master’s and continuing education courses, a graduate-level degree (300 ECTS credits) is required, while advanced Bachelor’s programs mandate an undergraduate-level degree (180 ECTS credits). Additionally, candidates must have relevant professional experience in an ARES partner country.

ALSO READ:  Fletcher Scholarship in Engineering 2023

Language Proficiency: Applicants are required to complete the application in the language of instruction for the chosen course and demonstrate a good written and spoken knowledge of it. Proficiency in French is beneficial, as it aids in adapting to daily life in Belgium.


The ARES scholarship presents a fantastic opportunity for students and professionals from select developing nations to pursue higher education in various fields in Belgium. By supporting their academic and professional growth, ARES aims to contribute to the development and progress of these countries. Although applications for the current year may be closed, interested individuals should keep an eye on the official ARES website for future opportunities and updates.

ALSO READ:  Vice Chancellor’s International Diversification Scholarship at Southern Cross University 2023
Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button