Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme at UK Universities

Sponsored Links

Are you a student from a least developed or lower middle-income Commonwealth country looking to pursue a Master’s degree in the UK? If so, the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships might be the perfect opportunity for you! These scholarships are designed to support talented individuals from eligible countries in their pursuit of higher education.

What are Commonwealth Shared Scholarships?

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered to candidates from least developed and lower middle-income Commonwealth countries who wish to undertake full-time Master’s study in selected courses at UK universities. These scholarships are jointly supported by the UK government and participating universities.

Eligible Fields of Study:

ALSO READ:  UWE Millennium Scholarship for International Students

The scholarships cover a wide range of courses under six themes, including access, inclusion, and opportunity; promoting global prosperity; science and technology for development; strengthening global peace, security, and governance; strengthening health systems and capacity; and strengthening resilience and response to crises.

Who can apply?

The scholarships are open to nationals of specific Commonwealth countries, including Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, Ghana, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, and others.

Scholarship Value and Duration:

Each Commonwealth Shared Scholarship covers approved tuition and examination fees, airfare from the home country to the UK and return at the end of the program, a monthly stipend (either £1,236 or £1,516 depending on the location of the university), warm clothing allowance, thesis grant, study travel grant, and excess baggage allowance. The scholarships are usually tenable for one year only.

ALSO READ:  Corporate Partners in Excellence (CPIE) Scholarship 2023

Eligibility Criteria:

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be a citizen of an eligible Commonwealth country or hold refugee status in one.
  2. Be a permanent resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  3. Be available to commence studies in the UK by the start of the academic year in September 2023.
  4. Hold a first or second class degree or a relevant postgraduate qualification by September 2023.
  5. Not have studied or worked for one academic year or more in a developed country.
  6. Demonstrate financial need for the scholarship.

How to Apply:

Applications for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are currently closed. To apply, candidates must first secure admission to an eligible Master’s course at a UK university participating in the scheme. Once accepted, applicants can submit their scholarship application using the CSC’s online system. Each university may have its own closing date for admissions.

ALSO READ:  Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region Government Scholarships

Make sure to visit the official scholarship website (link provided below) for detailed application instructions and to check for updates on future application cycles.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships offer a fantastic opportunity for students from least developed and lower middle-income Commonwealth countries to pursue their Master’s studies in the UK with full financial support. If you meet the eligibility criteria, keep an eye out for the next application cycle and take a step closer to achieving your academic and professional goals.

For more information and to apply, visit the official scholarship website:

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button