Australia Awards Scholarships

Sponsored Links

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS), offer valuable opportunities for individuals from developing countries, primarily in the Indo-Pacific region, to pursue full-time undergraduate or postgraduate studies at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

These scholarships are designed to support the development priorities of the recipient countries and contribute to building a skilled workforce to drive progress and sustainable growth.

Who Can Apply?

Citizens from participating countries in Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East are eligible to apply. Interested applicants must meet certain criteria, including being at least 18 years old on 1 February of the scholarship year, residing in and applying from their country of citizenship, and not possessing Australian citizenship or permanent residency.

ALSO READ:  Postgraduate Creative Nick Jack Scholarship at University for the Creative Arts 2023

Additionally, applicants must not be married to, engaged to, or in a de facto relationship with someone who is an Australian or New Zealand citizen or permanent resident. Exceptions are made for residents of Cook Islands, Niue, and Tokelau with New Zealand citizenship, who may apply but must obtain a Student visa (subclass 500).

Eligibility is also contingent on factors such as not being current serving military personnel, not having received a previous long-term Australia Award scholarship (unless residing outside Australia for twice the length of the previous award), and having no criminal convictions related to Child Protection and PSEAH (Preventing Sexual Exploitation, Abuse, and Harassment).

ALSO READ:  Poynting Excellence Scholarship 2023

Scholarship Benefits:

Australia Awards Scholarships come with comprehensive benefits, including full tuition fees, return air travel, an establishment allowance, contribution to living expenses (CLE), Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), and support for the Introductory Academic Program (IAP) and Pre-course English (PCE) fees. The duration of the scholarship is tailored to the length of the academic program, encompassing any required preparatory training.

Fields of Study:

The scholarships cover undergraduate or postgraduate programs that align with the priority areas for development in the recipient’s home country. These priority areas are outlined in the participating country profiles and are carefully selected to address specific needs and challenges faced by each nation.

ALSO READ:  QUT College Merit Scholarships for International Students in Australia

Application Process:

Applications are typically submitted online during the specified open period, but arrangements can be made for mail submissions in case online access is limited. As the application deadline varies from country to country, interested individuals must refer to the official website and their country-specific page for updated information.


Australia Awards Scholarships present a unique opportunity for individuals from developing countries to acquire valuable education in Australia and contribute to their countries’ growth and prosperity upon their return. By focusing on critical development areas and fostering international cooperation, these scholarships play a significant role in building a more sustainable and prosperous future for the Indo-Pacific region and beyond.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button