New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards

Sponsored Links

The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards offer exciting opportunities for international students from Southeast Asian countries to pursue postgraduate studies in New Zealand.

These scholarships aim to foster the development of their home countries by focusing on fields relevant to their specific needs. Let’s explore the essential details of these scholarships and how eligible students can apply.

What the Scholarships Offer:

The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards cover a range of postgraduate study levels, including Postgraduate Certificate, Postgraduate Diploma, Master’s Degree, and PhD programs, with the exception of Brunei and Singapore, where only PhD studies are supported.

ALSO READ:  Ieso Undergraduate Engineering Award

These scholarships come with numerous benefits, such as full tuition fees coverage, a living allowance paid fortnightly, an establishment allowance, medical and travel insurance, travel between their home country and New Zealand at the beginning and end of the scholarship, pastoral and academic support at their institution, and assistance with research and thesis costs for most postgraduate research students. Some eligible scholars may also receive home leave or reunion travel support.

Preferred Fields of Study:

To ensure the scholarships align with the needs of the scholars’ home countries, preferred fields of study include areas like renewable energy, agriculture, fisheries, disaster risk management, natural resource management, health, and education. Candidates are encouraged to find out the specific subjects preferred for their respective countries.

ALSO READ:  Ron Freedman Memorial Award 2023

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for the New Zealand Scholarship, applicants must meet the following conditions:

  1. Be at least 18 years old when commencing the scholarship.
  2. Hold citizenship in the country they are applying from and have lived there for at least the past two years.
  3. Commit to returning to their home country for a minimum of two years upon completing their studies.

Application Process:

The application process and deadlines may vary depending on the applicant’s home country. Generally, online applications close on 30th April 2016, with paper applications due by 15th April 2016 for most countries. However, Brunei and Singapore offer only PhD scholarships, and their deadline is 1st July 2016. To access detailed information and apply for the scholarships, candidates should visit the official scholarship website at

ALSO READ:  The Charles Wallace Burma Trust Academic Grants 2023


The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards present an excellent opportunity for students from Southeast Asian countries to pursue postgraduate studies in New Zealand, empowering them to contribute significantly to the development of their home countries.

By supporting fields relevant to their countries’ needs, these scholarships play a vital role in nurturing future leaders and experts in various crucial sectors. Eligible students should take advantage of this prestigious scholarship and follow the application guidelines to kickstart their educational journey in New Zealand.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button